PRODUCTION HERO, INSTALLMENT 1

RICK RUBINBY: G Luke Adamson

Music has always been a big part of my life. Every night as a child my parents would leave the radio tuned to Columbus’ Kissin’ 99.3 country music station. I was also fortunate enough to have parents who really dug oldies so I spent most summer days pool side listening to the local oldies station. Over time I’ve developed a pretty sound, pardon the pun, taste in music.

I enjoy a variety of genres and styles and I repeatedly amazed by new things weekly. Over the last year or two Ive made up my mind that I would like to make a career for myself in the music industry. I’ve become extremely intersted in music production and have a couple of Grammy- winnign idols I would like to blog about.

Def JamThe first is Rick Rubin. Rick got his beginning inNew York at NYU. After college he co-founded Def Jam Records with Russel Simmons and quickly signed Simmons’ group RUN DMC as well as other hip hop artists like LL Cool J and The Beastie Boys. Rubin has been at the helm of countless studio sessions with artists like Jay Z, Johnny Cash, The Red Hot Chili Peppers, Kanye West, and The Avett Brothers. And that is just a small sampling. The biggest thing to me about Mr. Rubin is that he has no formal musical training. He doesn’t play and instrument in his free time or sing, he’s just simply a fan of music.

After all thats really the producer’s role in crafting an album. Artists, understandably so, tend to be so involved with their art that they struggle to evaluate it objectively. The producer is there to be the ears on the project. To hear the songs while theres still an opportunity to make changes and hopefully make each track as great as it can be. Rick Rubins track record speaks for itself, just take a peek at his wikipedia page for that! But it is because of his great work that I admire him and allow myself to be influenced by what he has accomplished. I hope that I can be able to do something in the vein of what he does later in my life.

Below is a video interview of Rick and Kid Rock discussing what all went in to Kid Rock’s latest record. My favorite part is Rubin talking fondly bout music and saying “I try to listen to music that has stood the test of time and is still good.” He goes on to say “If you can get your taste in tune with that then you can do special things.”

Leave a Reply

